5 Love Languages: Can They Really Help You in Relationship?

couple hugging on beach in the sun

The concept of love languages became extremely popular along with the release of the book titled, “The 5 Love Languages®: The Secret to Love That Lasts.” This book was created by a marriage therapist named Dr. Gary Chapman and it became extremely popular within a short period of time. In fact, more than 11 million copies of the book were sold within a short period of time. It has also been translated to over 49 different languages.

According to the author of the book, it is important for you to find your love language. Then you will tend to help you with navigating the relationship that is needed in your life. In addition, you will start learning the love language, which would speak up fluently. Then you will be able to communicate it in an effective manner as well. The author of the book has already done it and she has experienced positive results. Then people started buying the book. They also earned positive results and that’s the main reason why more than 11 million copies of the book were sold.

Before we proceed to understand whats your love language, it is important to have a clear understanding about what the languages of love are. Then you will be in a position to go ahead and apply them in your life in a better way.

5 Love Languages

1. Quality time

Quality time can be considered as the first one out of the love languages. When someone spends quality time with you, you feel loved. You will also notice how he is paying undivided attention to you. You need to make sure that your primary love language is quality time. Then you will be able to let someone else feel loved. This can be triggered with the feelings of staying undistracted and unplugged as well.

When someone is willing to spend his time in order to be with you, you will experience that. It will be one of the best feelings that you can experience as well. They will never cancel the schedule or postpone the meetings with you. Even when you are together, he will tend to pay special attention towards you. It can play a tremendous role in your relationship as well.

a woma hugging a man in red shirt

2. Words of affirmation

Words of affirmation should be the second language of love. When you hear the word “I love you”, you will get an amazing feeling. It can even bring a smile on your face. That’s the reason why you need to put words of affirmation to the second place in love languages. When someone else is expressing the words of affirmation, you will feel loved.

In order to get connected with you, the other people should complement you. In addition, they need to affirm you verbally. It can also be done via a love note. When you hear such words, you will not notice that you are just hearing the words of flattering.

couple sitting o beach and hugging at sunset

3. Giving gifts

When someone brings you something, you will feel good. You can even live with that feeling for the rest of your life. That’s where giving gifts become a love language. Giving gifts is referred to as a symbol, which highlights affection and love. Therefore, you need to treasure tangible, meaningful and thoughtful gifts as well as surprises. Giving out roses on the Valentine’s Day can be considered as a perfect gift out of them available for you to consider.

This is the main language of love in many individuals. You just need to keep in mind that you don’t need to give something worthy as a gift. Something simple and affordable would be a perfect gift. You just need to make sure that the other person will be excited by the gift that you give. Even a pen engraved with his/her name can be a gift.

a woman with flowers hugging a man

4. Acts of service

When you try to find your love language, you will come across acts of service as well. It is the fourth language of love. You need to subscribe to the moto if actions speak louder when compared to words. A person might come and say that he/she wants to spend the entire day along with you. In addition, he/she will continuously tell how much he/she loves and appreciates you. This is an act of service, which highlights the love languages. It is one of the primary languages of love, which you should not miss out as well.

When someone is doing small things in order to help you reach your goals, you know that he/she is loving you. For example, the person will help you with doing the dishes, vacuuming the floors and even preparing breakfast. They can provide great help to you at the end of the day.

a man kissing a woman in cheek

5. Physical touch

Last but not least, you need to consider physical touch as a language of love. When someone is holding your hands, you will feel tight and you get an amazing experience. This is the reason why it is identified as one of the primary languages of love. When that person comes and touches you, you will get a touchy-feely experience.

To experience this language of love, the person should be accessible and present. It is also an important element, which should be there for the betterment of a relationship. The complete opposite of this would destroy a relationship as well. Hence, it is important to make sure that you don’t ignore this language of love.

couple lying and holding hands


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here